Hello 2021…

~Goodbye 2020. That was a shitshow. Let’s never do that again.~

Hello my beautiful people. Happy New Yearrrrrr!

Minions celebrate gif

Fireworks new year

HOW ARE YOU?

It’s been quite an age, hasn’t it?
Sitting here after so long, with this keyboard, feels almost foreign now yet familiar enough that my fingers feel like they can’t get out all the words at once.

I’ve missed it here so much. I’ve missed YOU all so much.

It’s been two months since I ghosted on you guys just like that. Oh, the audacity of me!

 

Honestly, I could come up with a list of reasons for my disappearance but the summary of it all is that your girl needed a break. To think, I had all that content planned out for the rest of the year but 2020 kept fucking shit up.

I didn’t have it in me to deliver in my writing like I would have loved to. Blogging started to feel like a chore and I felt like anything I posted would have been half-assed, and we simply couldn’t have that. I apologize for my abrupt disappearance but I’m back now and I’m looking forward to bringing you premium content this 2021. Big shout-out to my lovely people who kept checking in during my blogging hiatus. I missed y’all teww.

What have I been up to, you asked?

*deep heavy sigh*

Well, as we all know, 2020 was one hell of a ride. I lost more people in one year than I probably have in my whole life. It’s been tough but still, we move.

Much to my frustration, politics and this goddamn pandemic has kept me out of school for about a year now. I was supposed to graduate last year but oops – there goes life.

Eye roll GIF

Last year did have some ups though.
It didn’t go as planned at all but I did manage to tick some boxes on my goal list. There’s much to be grateful for- my family, my health (even though malaria kept waging war against me), my personal growth, my beautiful friends, my blog AND my small business I just started.

Oh, I didn’t tell you about that one yet, did I?

Sooo, I just started a small perfume business, Virgo Essence, which honestly has been going better than I expected for someone new to entrepreneurship. It’s super small and I still have so much to learn but I’m figuring it out and by God’s grace, it will only get bigger and better. Big thanks to everyone who has patronized and supported me so far. It means so much to me and my bank account.

To my lovely people who weren’t in the know, please follow my business page: @virgoessence.ng on Instagram. If you’re in Lagos and need a plug for amazing scents at affordable rates, I gotchu baby. God bless as you support your girl.

Of course I was going to shamelessly plug my business here, don’t look at me like that 😗.

What have you guys been up to? How did Christmas and New Year’s festivities go for you? Tell me all about it in the commentsss, I can’t wait to catch up!

I'm listening GIF

Welcome to 2021 babes.
May this year be far better to us than the last. May your expectations be met, your heart desires granted and your spirit continuously nourished. May you grow in grace and light and may you find joy and laughter this time like you never have before.
Finally, may this be your best year yet.

I’m usually optimistic about new beginnings and a fresh start, and this year is really no different. I know most of us aren’t as excited as we usually are and we have collectively agreed not to hype anything about 2021, lest we jinx it. Haq!

However, I’m still choosing to be hopeful and positive because at the end of the day, we make our world with our thoughts and I aggressively reject all forms of negativity in my life this year. God knows I’ve had enough of that.

Lala Power negative energy GIF

No matter how bad it gets, it’s important that we strive to face life with a positive mindset because honestly life is just easier with good energy and that’s what we want to attract all year round, Amen?

Ricky Periodt GIF

In the spirit of optimism, let’s chat about the things we’re looking forward to this year shall we? I’ll go first.

1. Graduation – First it was a NINE-MONTH STRIKE (yeahhhh, let that sink in), now it’s a second wave of this bloody pandemic 😑. Having school on hold for so long hasn’t been funny at all. But by fire, or by force I’m graduating this year and I can’t waitttt. I can’t lie that the thought of life after uni isn’t scary af but it’s about damn time and I think I’m ready to see what life has in store for me.

I’m also absolutely NOT looking forward to NYSC (a compulsory yet pointless program for Nigerian University graduates). As a matter of fact, I’m still hoping for the miracle that these lot wake up one day and cancel the program before it’s my turn. A girl can dream, right?

2. Enjoyment – I have made the executive decision to enjoy the life of my head like never before this year. I am available for opportunities and activities that result in happy experiences and creating great memories. I hope to see new places, try new food, go out more, meet new people, buy nice things and just generally, live life. God help my bank account.

Anne Hathaway Hustle Cheers GIF

3. More money – In order to achieve the above goal, funds gats dey (there has to be money) and I’m looking forward to being on my Money Woman game.

4. Growing my business. I’m really excited about my progress so far and I’m looking forward to getting even bigger. Money must locate me at every turn this year.

5. Growing my Honey Side Up fam – Last year was awesome and I know we’re about to have an even better time. I can’t wait for all the gist and good stuff I plan to bring your way soon. Somehow this little blog made it to 251 followers even while I wasn’t active and that means so much to me. The stats have been surprising man. I love you for every read, share, comment and repost. You guys are the OGs.

Do you have any new year resolutions? Perhaps New year new you…?

I hope you achieve your goals and manifest your dreams. If you don’t have any set goals for the year yet and are choosing to take each day as it comes, that’s perfectly fine. Don’t stress it babes. You’ll figure it out along the way.

P.S Don’t let anyone mock you for having high hopes for 2021 because 2020 was a slap in the face for most. Dare to dream and hope for better. Make big plans, set goals and MAKE SHIT HAPPEN. It might just be your year after all. And if it isn’t, we move again next year. Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement.

“But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

– Isaiah 40:31

If you’re new to the blog, welcome to the Fam babes. So glad to have you here. Get comfortable and have a look around. You’ll love it here 😌. Hope you stop by again.

Here’s to a prosperous 2021, full of happiness, love, growth and fulfilment.🥂

Xoxo, Yinda

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Tochukwu Nwosa says:

    Reading this was good for my soul. Thanks for sharing and cheers to the wins coming your way this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yinda says:

      Thank you! Love to hear it❤️

      Like

  2. Ada1969 says:

    Happy New Year hunnie❤️! Amazing stuff!

    Like

    1. Yinda says:

      Thanks girlie ❤️

      Like

  3. Erime BB says:

    Welcome back Yinda. I’ve missed you! The holidays went better than I expected. I couldn’t spend with family because of the virus but I did have a splendid time with some friends. I’m hopeful about 2021 too. 2020 was challenging but I have faith that this one might be better. Like you, I’m looking forward to all the experiences the year has to offer. Awesome post 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yinda says:

      Thank you so much! May they be amazing experiences indeed.
      The virus kept so many families apart this holiday but I’m glad you still had your friends. Glad to see you’re keeping the faith Erime. Have am amazing year ahead ❤️

      Like

  4. Tomide says:

    Yesss she’s back!💃🏿
    Happy new year Yinda. We’ve missed you o. Amazing post here as usual. I’m so happy 2020 is over but like you said, I don’t want to get too excited about 2021 and jinx it😄 But I trust God to make things align for our good this year. Thanks for sharing this with us. I’m looking forward to more great content from this side. Have an amazing 2021.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Martha Omole says:

    So good to have you back Yindaaa💃💃💃. And cheers to that more money vibe🥂😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yinda says:

      Thanks beau🤗💕 Cheersss 🥂

      Like

  6. PoojaG says:

    Welcome back and happy new year!! Congratulations on the business and I hope you have a much better year in 2021!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yinda says:

      Thank you! Same to you 💕
      Glad you’re back blogging too. Missed your posts.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Joseph Ikhimeagie says:

    Let’s take on 2021 with high expectations…
    Knowing this… God is one our side!

    The funny thing is 2020 was one of my best years…

    God made miracles happen for me & my family.

    Happy new year!
    May your dreams for 2021 come true sweetie!!
    We can’t wait to celebrate with you…
    Congratulations!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ifeoluwa says:

    Happy new year! New years should come with new revolutions, plans and high hopes I mean why the hell not. The world is just always going to be this rollercoaster of bad vibes but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t make our lives better and create happiness for ourselves and people around us. May the Lord bless your business and establish your goals and the rest of us who are glad you started writing again. Great article as always

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Happy New Year Yinda! And a big welcome back to the blogosphere. No worries… you’ll be graduating this 2021.

    Congrats on your business by the way, that’s really impressive. About NYSC, I think I liked it cos of exposure, it can really be great if you’re posted somewhere good and surrounded by well-meaning folks.

    Cheers to more success. As for me, I wanna get an exciting job this year.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yinda says:

      Same to you!

      Like

Leave a comment